Guide de localisation d’Aldgate

 

Vue d’ensemble

Aldgate_tube_station,_London

Image courtoisie de Eluveitie

Aldgate est un endroit merveilleux pour tous! De l’histoire au shopping, si vous passez un peu de temps ici, vous serez certainement satisfait de ce qu’Aldgate a à vous offrir. Il y a aussi une poignée de parcs à proximité si vous avez envie d’échapper à la folie de la vie urbaine.

 

Informations de voyage

La station de métro de Londres la plus proche est Aldgate sur les lignes Circle et Metropolitan qui vous mènera à de nombreux endroits remarquables de Londres, y compris Westminster, Notting Hill et Camden. Les gares principales les plus proches sont situées à Liverpool Street et Fenchurch Street, et Tower Gateway est la gare la plus proche de Docklands Light Railway. Vous trouverez de nombreux bus qui circulent dans la région pendant la journée et le soir. Certaines de ces lignes de bus comprennent les numéros 67, 115 et 254 qui peuvent vous conduire à Shoreditch, Limehouse et Whitechapel.

Histoire

Peasant Revolt

Image courtoisie de Bibliothèque nationale de France

Aldgate occupe une place importante dans l’histoire médiévale de Londres. Située près de la partie orientale de la muraille romaine d’origine, elle menait à la ville de Colchester, dans l’Essex.

Il y a plusieurs théories sur l’origine du nom Aldgate. Le plus ancien témoignage d’Aldgate indique qu’il s’agit de la Porte Est (East Gate), ce qui correspond à son emplacement près de la muraille romaine à l’époque médiévale. Une autre interprétation de son nom actuel est « Ale Gate », qui indique qu’une brasserie pourrait avoir été proche. » Elle peut aussi provenir de « All Gate », qui a pu indiquer l’ouverture de la région à tous. Cependant, la plupart des experts s’accordent à dire que la signification la plus probable de « Aldgate » est « Old Gate », ce qui nous donne une indication de l’antiquité d’Aldgate High Street, et de sa longue histoire qui remonte à l’époque romaine.

Tout au long de l’histoire de la région, du XIIIe au XVIIe siècle, elle a été utilisée à des fins défensives et n’a été violée qu’à deux reprises. La première s’est produite pendant la rébellion des paysans à l’été 1381 lorsque des milliers d’insurgés de la région des alentours, aidés par des sympathisants, entrèrent dans la ville par Aldgate. La deuxième brèche s’est produite à l’été 1471 lorsque les troupes dirigées par Thomas Fauconberg ont forcé l’ouverture de la porte. La porte a finalement été retirée en 1761 mais a été temporairement reconstruite à Bethnal Green.

Aujourd’hui, Aldgate est la ville par excellence, avec ses rues bourdonnantes et tant de choses à faire.

Attractions locales

Aldgate est rempli de tant de choses à faire ! La région est imprégnée d’histoire avec beaucoup de musées à visiter et de circuits à faire. Il y a aussi beaucoup de magasins pour les accros du shopping et des restaurants pour ceux qui ont envie de un petit quelque chose.

Visite « Jack the Ripper »

Jack_the_ripper

Image courtoisie de Polize Gazette

Cette excursion est connue sous le nom de la tournée d’horreur originale de Londres. Vous vous immergez dans le côté sombre de l’histoire de Londres avec son tueur en série le plus notoire. Il commence juste à l’extérieur de la station de métro Aldgate East Tube et s’aventure dans les ruelles claustrophobes de Londres, détaillant où de nombreux crimes de Jack l’Eventreur ont eu lieu.

Jack the Ripper tour

Brick Lane Market

Brick Lane Market

Image courtoisie de eGuide Travel

Un marché aux puces traditionnel à quelques pas de la station de métro Aldgate East. Le quartier de Brick Lane est le lieu de certains des restaurants indiens et autres restaurants asiatiques les plus visités de Londres.

Le marché est ouvert de 9h à 17h le dimanche, mais les boutiques, galeries, cafés et restaurants des alentours sont ouverts 7 jours par semaine.

Visitez Brick Lane

Whitechapel Gallery

Whitechapel Gallery

Image courtoisie de Steve Cadman

Appelée à l’origine East End Gallery, la Whitechapel Gallery est devenue l’une des premières galeries publiques de Londres. Cette galerie a créé des artistes de classe mondiale tout au long de son histoire et est remplie de magnifiques galeries, d’expositions, de commandes d’artistes, de collections, d’archives historiques, de ressources pédagogiques et de cours d’art inspirants.

La Gallery est la référence de l’art contemporain à l’échelle internationale. Elle joue un rôle central dans le milieu culturel de Londres et joue un rôle central dans la croissance continue du quartier le plus dynamique du monde de l’art contemporain.

Whitechapel Gallery

Tower of London

Tower of London

Image courtoisie de Bernard Gagnon

Depuis 1078, la Tower of London se dresse sur les rives de la Tamise. Il a été construit par Guillaume le Conquérant principalement pour protéger la rue normande dans les années qui ont suivi la conquête. Il servait également de prison et de lieu d’exécution pour des personnages jugés importants par la royauté. Certaines de ces personnes comprennent, Anne Boleyn – Reine d’Angleterre, Thomas Cromwell – 1er comte d’Essex et Lady Jane Grey. En 1988, elle a été inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité par l’UNESCO.

Tower of London

Hébergement

aldgate-residence-externalAldgate Residence (The Curve) – Cliquez ici

A quelques minutes à pied de la station de métro Aldgate East dans la zone 1, vous avez Londres à votre porte. Vous serez juste à l’est de ‘The City’, le célèbre quartier financier de Londres. A quelques pas de Brick Lane, du Spitalfields Market et d’une multitude de galeries d’art, restaurants et boutiques indépendantes. L’une des résidences étudiantes les plus agréables et les plus sociables. C’est l’endroit idéal pour passer votre temps à Londres si vous souhaitez rencontrer et vous faire des amis avec des étudiants du monde entier. Il y a Wi-Fi dans tout l’immeuble, des aires communes et une équipe de gestion sur place pour vous aider à vous installer et à vous garder en sécurité.

 

Que disent-ils?

Dernières nouvelles de la BLOG

4th Fév, 2019

10 choses à faire absolument à Londres

Salut à tous! Je m’appelle Lucille, j’ai 18 ans et je suis à Londres pour 2…

Read More
24th Jan, 2019

Les tournées des meilleurs bars et clubs de Londres

Quoi de mieux pour se détendre que de sortir avec ses amis ? On sait que le…

Read More
12th Juil, 2018

14 Beautiful Places to visit in London

No matter if you’re a new or experienced Londoner, there are always some secret or beautiful…

Read More
3rd Juil, 2018

What to do this weekend in London: Pride Parade

The iconic Pride Parade, peak of the month-long festival, is back in London on Saturday 7…

Read More
26th Juin, 2018

London’s best parks: activities for the sunny days

The sunny days are here, it’s time to take the sun in a beautiful park or…

Read More
19th Juin, 2018

An itinerary in London: from Notting Hill to Kensington via Portobello Market

Because they are so many things to see in London, here’s a little itinerary so as…

Read More
19th Juin, 2018

Some famous stereotypes about British people: True or False?

When moving to another country, we always have some fears and preconceptions about the foreign cultures.…

Read More
19th Juin, 2018

How to make friends in London

You just arrived in London and you don’t know anyone? Or you have lived here for…

Read More
12th Juin, 2018

Walking Tours in London

You’re looking for something nice to do this weekend? Here’s a fun activity I recently discovered:…

Read More

Aldgate location guide

Aldgate Overview

Aldgate_tube_station,_London

Image courtesy of Eluveitie

Aldgate is a wonderful place for everyone! From history to shopping, if you spend some time here you will surely be satisfied with what Aldgate has to offer. There are also a handful of parks nearby if you feel like escaping the craziness that is city life.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Travel information

The nearest London Underground station is Aldgate on the Circle and Metropolitan lines which will take you to many notable places in London, including Westminster, Notting Hill and Camden. Nearby mainline railway stations are located at Liverpool Street and Fenchurch Street, and Tower Gateway is the closest Docklands Light Railway station. You will find plenty of buses that serve the area during the day and in the evening. Some of these bus routes include numbers 67, 115 and 254 which can take you to Shoreditch, Limehouse and Whitechapel.

History

Peasant Revolt

Image courtesy of Bibliothèque nationale de France

Aldgate has an important place in London’s medieval history. It was situated near the eastern part of the original Roman Wall, and during this time it led to the town of Colchester in Essex.

There are various theories about where the name Aldgate came from. The earliest record of Aldgate has it listed as East Gate, which correlates with its location near the Roman Wall in the medieval period. Another interpretation of its current name is “Ale Gate”, which indicates that an ale-house might have been close.” It may also have derived from “All Gate”, which may have pointed to the area’s openness to all. However most scholars seem to agree that the most likely meaning of “Aldgate,” however, is “Old Gate,” which gives us an indication of Aldgate High Street’s antiquity, and its long history dating back to Roman times.

Throughout most of the area’s recorded history 13th–17th century, it was used for defensive functions and was only ever breached on two occasions. The first occurred during the Peasants Rebellion in the summer of 1381 when thousands of insurgents from the surrounding area, assisted by sympathisers entered the City through Aldgate. The second time a breach happened was in the summer of 1471 when troops led by Thomas Fauconberg forced open the gate. The gate was finally removed in 1761 but was temporarily re-erected at Bethnal Green.

Today Aldgate is city life epitomised, buzzing streets with so many things to do.

Local attractions

Aldgate is filled with so many things to do! The area is steeped in history with plenty of museums to go to and tours to go on. There are also loads of shops for the shopaholics and restaurants for those feeling peckish.

Jack the Ripper tour

Jack_the_ripper

Image courtesy of Polize Gazette

This tour is known as London’s original horror tour. You get to immerse yourself in the darker side of London’s history with its most notorious serial killer. It begins just outside Aldgate East Tube station and ventures down London’s claustrophobic alleyways, detailing where many of Jack the Ripper’s crimes took place.

Jack the Ripper tour

Brick Lane Market

Brick Lane Market

Image courtesy of eGuide Travel

A tradition flea-market which is a short walk from Aldgate East tube station. The Brick Lane area is home to some of London’s most visited Indian and other Asian eateries.

The market opens from 9am to 5pm on a Sunday, however the surrounding shops, galleries, cafes and restaurants are open 7 days a week.

Visit Brick Lane

Whitechapel Gallery

Whitechapel Gallery

Image courtesy of Steve Cadman

Originally called the East End Gallery, the Whitechapel Gallery became one of the first publicly funded galleries in London. This gallery has premiered world-class artists throughout its history and is filled with beautiful galleries, exhibitions artist commissions, collection displays, historic archives, education resources and inspiring art courses.

The Gallery is a touchstone for contemporary art internationally, plays a central role in London’s cultural landscape and is pivotal to the continued growth of the world’s most vibrant contemporary art quarter.

Whitechapel Gallery

Tower of London

Tower of London

Image courtesy of Bernard Gagnon

Since 1078 the Tower of London has stood on the banks of the River Thames. It was built by William the Conqueror mainly to protect Norman rue in the years after the conquest. It was also used as a prison, and a place of execution for figures deemed important by the crown. Some of these people include, Anne Boleyn – Queen of England, Thomas Cromwell – 1st Earl of Essex and Lady Jane Grey. In 1988 it became a designated World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Tower of London

Accommodation

aldgate-residence-externalAldgate Residence (The Curve) – Click Here

Just a couple of minutes walk from Aldgate East Underground Station in Zone 1, you have London on your doorstep. You will be just to the east of ‘The City’, London’s famous financial district, moments away from Brick Lane, Spitalfields Market and a plethora of art galleries, restaurants and independent boutique shops. One of the most fun and sociable student residences, this is the ideal place to spend your time in London if you wish to meet and make friends with students from all over the world. There is Wi-Fi throughout the building, communal areas and a dedicated on-site management team to help settle you in and to keep you safe.

What they say

Latest From the BLOG

16th May, 2019

Top free things to do in London!

Want to have a great day out in London but don’t want to spend a penny?…

Read More
9th Apr, 2019

FesTEAval – 13th-14th April 2019 – Tobacco Dock, Wapping

Raise a cup to National Tea Day at this two-day festival. In 2019 you’ll find the…

Read More
25th Mar, 2019

Fun and interesting facts about London!

Here are some fun and interesting facts about London which you may not know: • Great…

Read More
18th Mar, 2019

Buckingham Palace tour – Summer 2019

Would you love to see inside Buckingham Palace? Then you are in luck! Buckingham Palace opens…

Read More
11th Mar, 2019

Eid Festival in London – 8th June 2019

Are you Muslim or are you interested in learning about Muslim culture? Then feel free to…

Read More
4th Mar, 2019

Things to do this Easter

DeadDrop Chocolate Run – Why not get involved with this exciting fun run/grown up Easter egg…

Read More
11th Feb, 2019

New Branding for UK Student Residences!

We are excited to announce that UK Student Residences has officially launched a new logo, branding…

Read More
5th Feb, 2019

10 things you should do in London

Hi everyone! My name is Lucille, I’m 18 years old and I’m here for 2 months…

Read More
24th Jan, 2019

The best bar and club tours in London

There is nothing better than going out with our friends, right?  We know student budgets can…

Read More